Award Recipients

Each biennial meeting year since 1978, the Awards Committee of the Michael E. DeBakey International Surgical Society has selected a surgeon to receive the DeBakey Surgical Award.

This is a singular honor bestowed only on the world’s most outstanding surgeons for their significant contributions to surgery.

2020 Charles H. McCollum 2018 Joseph Coselli, MD
2016 No Award Given 2014 Kenneth L. Mattox, M.D.
2012 No Award Given 2010 No Award Given
2008 George P. Noon, MD 2006 No Award Given
2004 Norman M. Rich, M.D. 2002 No Award Given
2000 John O. Ochsner, M.D. 1998 F. William Blaisdell, M.D.
1996 Frank C. Spencer, M.D. 1994 C. Rollins Hanlon, M.D.
1992 Henry Bahnson, M.D. 1990 E. Stanley Crawford, M.D.
1988 John Kirklin, M.D. 1986 Norman Shumway, M.D.
1984 David Sabiston, M.D. 1982 Frank Gerbode, M.D.
1980 Alton Ochsner, M.D. 1978 Charles Dubost, M.D.